Low-Carb Diet + Greens, Eggs and Ham Frittata

IMG_5823I was having a discussion with a customer the other day in regards to body happiness and satisfaction, particularly among women. Doesn’t it always seem that women are never happy with their appearance? We are always looking for a new diet or lifestyle change that will finally give us the body we have always dreamed of. I think this lack of satisfaction has many different factors that contribute to this conclusion, but nonetheless this still seems to be an issue. Unrealistic expectations, social media influences, and constant judgement and comparisons seem to be some of the biggest culprits.

On a positive note, within the past two years there has been a shift away from the “diet” approach to more of a lifestyle change. By this I mean, diets tend to be more temporary and drastic changes that are not long-lasting; examples: cayenne pepper/lemon juice/maple syrup cleanse, severe caloric deficit, and cabbage soup. Whereas, lifestyle changes tend to be realistic, long-lasting, and  can have permanent health changes; examples; vegan, vegetarian, and paleo.

Luckily for me, my constant research in this field has stirred me away from the fad diets and led me to believe lifestyle choices were the best and most effective approach for achieving my health goals. Throughout the past ten years, there have been a few that I have dedicatedly practiced; gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, and raw vegan. It’s funny how throughout the years, the beliefs and opinions on these lifestyle changes have dramatically changed. Raw veganism used to be a practice that people believed to be the best for health, yet many didn’t have the willpower to fully comit. But as research continues to grow and develop, we are seeing that this practice really isn’t the best choice for optimal health. There are always new diets popping up and I think it takes years of research to truly determine if it’s the best approach to optimal health. Research aside, I think implementation is one of the most conclusive factors in determining which lifestyle is best for you. Everyone is different. Not one diet will be best for each and every person on this earth, and thats why it’s important to test things out for yourself and figure out which approach makes you feel your absolute best.

IMG_5821

That being said, I’m currently testing a new approach out. Long gone are my raw vegan days. This lifestyle practice was much too hard on my digestive system (even though there is an abundance of naturally occuring enzymes), wasn’t the most enjoyable, and most importantly, it drove my family nuts. Right now I’m playing with a low-carb diet. The research that I’m digging up is based off a ketogenic diet and putting your body in a state of ketosis. According to Medical News Today, “ketosis is a metabolic process that occurs when the body does not have enough glucose for energy. Stored fats are broken down, resulting in a build-up of acids called ketones within the body.”

Long story short, when you limit the amount of carbohydrates you consume, your body has to utilize something else for fuel. In regards to a low-carb diet, your body will access its stored fat for energy. It’s a bit trickier to get into a state of ketosis than one might think. Once you get past the fact that you’re giving up bread, pasta, and anything related to sugar, you have to break down the uncommon sources of carbohydrates and limit those as well. For me personally, I’m not the biggest fan of bread, pasta, and wheat-based dishes. I’ve been slowly reducing my fruit intake so giving those up (except for post-workout- I’ll explain in detail in another post) hasn’t been too difficult. The challenge for me is finding carbohydrates in the least expected of foods. Spinach, kale, sprouts, nuts, and chia seeds are all ingredients that I love using, yet have a hidden amount of carbohydrates that you wouldn’t assume. Now let’s be clear, I’m not saying these foods are bad for you in any sort of the matter, I’m just saying for the lifestyle change I’m currently adapting to and the health goals I’m looking to achieve, carbohydrates are something I’m trying to avoid. If you want to know more about why I’m doing this, how to do it, and have any sort of concerns, feel free to comment below and I’ll be happy to share my input with you.

For those who are intrigued on this method for fat loss, I would recommend doing some external research on “ketosis”, a “ketogenic diet”, and a “low-carb diet”. There have been numerous studies done on dietary fat and its connection to chronic disease. Whereas fat has always gotten the blame for creating these diseases, carbohydrates are actually the culprit. When we begin to decrease the amount of carbohydrates we consume in the diet, that’s when we will begin to see a positive turn in health within individuals but also as a nation. Fat is not the problem. Fat is not making you fat. Carbohydrates is what we need to be more cautious of. With that being said, I’ve included a recipe for one of my favorite low-carbohydrate recipes; Greens, Eggs and Ham Frittata! Let’s get cooking!

IMG_5815Ingredients

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 TBS ghee
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 3 pieces of deli-sliced ham; chopped
  • 1 TBS melted grass-fed butter (optional)
  • 1/8-1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1/8 cup raw pine nuts
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp seasoning blend
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder

Directions

  1. Pre-heat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt ghee in a medium skillet. Sautee kale and spinach for 2-3 minutes. Pull of stove-top and chop.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, egg whites, and melted butter (make sure it’s cooled down just a little).
  4. Add seasonings, baking powder, chopped ham, and greens to the egg mixture.
  5. Take a buttered muffin tin or silicon mold and pour egg mixture in, almost filling to the top.
  6. Bake in the over for 25 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven and top with feta cheese and pine nuts.
  8. Turn over to broil and continue cooking for 5 minutes or until the cheese and pine nuts begin to get toasted.
  9. Remove from oven and serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

