Orange Julius

DSC_3478Well this post was initially going to be about how an Orange Julius is a great option for a post-workout drink…but scratch that. The more I researched necessary post-workout nutrients I began to find that fructose (that in fruit juice) isn’t the best carbohydrate option when it comes to refueling your glycogen stores. Anyways, I don’t want to get you guys too confused, I’ll just save that for another post: Necessary Post-Workout Nutrients.

But just because this drink isn’t my first choice that I would grab following a workout, doesn’t mean I wouldn’t drink it at any other time of the day. It’s actually one of my favorite drinks in the morning because it’s refreshing, full of vitamins and protein, and tastes delicious. Traditional Orange Julius recipes call for egg whites, and to be honest I don’t have a problem with adding that to my drink at all. You can simply omit the egg if that sounds off-putting. The egg whites are added to the drink to make it creamier and have more froth. Feel free to adjust this ingredient to your liking.

I’m not going to lie and pretend that I buy only organic products, but when it comes to animal-based foods, I try to buy the cleanest and most natural products I can find. As for eggs, I’ll spend the extra $2 to ensure I’m getting a high-quality product without the extra hormones added! While in the grocery store, that additional $2 might seem frightening, just remember you get what you pay for. When you look at the bigger picture, $4+ on a dozen eggs really isn’t much compared to the hundreds you spend on a monthly basis for bills and rent. I wouldn’t say I don’t have the budget to buy all organic ingredients, because let’s face it, we probably all do. It’s just a matter of priorities. Right now, I’ choose to spend my money on organic animal-based products, and then buy natural fruits and vegetables. If there is a good sale or special on organic produce then I’ll make sure to take advantage of it, but other than that my organic groceries usually tend to be just animal-based products. Like I said, it’s priorities. I have the budget to buy all organic but I choose to use my entire budget for clean groceries AND personal luxuries. Just being real. But let’s not waste any more time and jump into this easy to make, delicious recipe!

DSC_3477

Orange Julius

  • 12 ounces orange juice
  • 1  cup non-dairy milk (almond and coconut are my favorite)
  • 1 1/2 cups ice
  • 1-2 egg whites (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon raw honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Throw all ingredients into a blender and blend for two minutes until creamy! Try making a tropical twist to this classic drink and substitute almond milk for coconut milk, add a frozen banana and a few pieces of pineapple! 

Cheers!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Orange Julius

Leave a Reply

